Homemade pâté


I like pâté but I am also conscious about the ingredients and the preservatives it contains so I’ve always wanted to find a recipe about a homemade one. Well, my wish came true. I have come across one, today, in this book I have mentioned earlier, in Something warm for the cold days of autumn post and I am happy. I haven’t tried making it but when I will, I will re-edit the post to let you know. The interesting is that you can make your own pâté at home and it doesn’t take long, it is tastier and healthier, so it is a win-win situation.

Chicken liver pâté

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 140 g (5 oz) butter
  • 1 onion, finely chopped (I know it is good but I will skip the onion sometimes)
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped (yes, and garlic too ;))
  • 250 (9 oz) chicken livers
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard (or normal one if you don’t have Dijon)
  • 2 tbsp brandy (optional)

Method:

  • Melt half the butter in a large frying pan over a medium heat and cook the onion for 3-4 minutes until soft and transparent. Add the garlic and continue to cook for a further 2 minutes.
  • Check the livers and remove any discoloured parts using a pair of scissors or a knife. Add the livers to the frying pan and cook over quite a high heat for 5-6 minutes until they are brown in colour.
  • Season well with salt and pepper and add the mustard and brandy, if using.
  • Process the pâté in a blender or food processor until smooth. Add the remaining butter cut into small pieces and process again until creamy.
  • Press the pâté into a serving dish, smooth the surface and cover. If it is to be kept for more than 2 days, you could cover the surface  with a little clarified butter. Serve with toast anytime you feel like.

Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

