About books


When I think about books, I smile. I read A LOT when I was little and I haven’t stopped yet. I’ve always read a book. Now I am reading The Lord of the Rings and I’ve almost finished the second book. It is amazing. I realize now, while I am reading it, how close the film is to the book, but I think (and this is not only my opinion) that books are always better than the films that are made after them. I would always suggest the book first, rather than the film.

I’ve gathered, for  a long time now, a list of books that were either suggested to me by my friends and acquaintances or I found them in my own or others bookcases or public libraries. Most of them I read but still remain a lot that are to be read in the future. Because there are so many, I put them on a list, my own, so that I would know what to read next. And thought of sharing this list with you. There are books for different ages and all give me pleasure. I recommend them dearly and you are free to choose from here or not. I just think that they are worth reading. If you have a favourite book, feel free to tell me. I would always edit this post.🙂

Romanian Literature:

  • Happiness DiaryNicolae Steinhardt
  • Ciresarii – Constantin Chirita
  • All Canvases Up – Radu Tudoran
  • Cyanide for a Smile – Rodica Ojog-Brasoveanu
  • 320 Black Cats- Rodica Ojog-Brasoveanu (Violeta)

Foreign Literature:

  • The Magus – John Fowles (Mihai)
  • Conversations with God – Neale Donald Walsch (Simona)
  • The Return – H. Beam Piper & John J. McGuire (Simona)
  • The Seeds of Happiness – Michael Aivanhov (Simona)
  • Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman’s Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia – Elizabeth Gilbert (Simona)
  • Three Men in a Boat Jerome K. Jerome (Magda)
  • A Walk to Remember – Nicholas Sparks
  • Team of Rivals – Doris Kearns Goodwin
  • Beloved – Toni  Morrison
  • The Sleeping Beauty Proposal – Sara Strohmeyer
  • The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo-Stieg Larsson
  • The Long Tail – Chris Anderson
  • The Classic of the Plain Girl – translated by Jolan Chang
  • Tantra – Val Sampson
  • The Invitation – Oriah Mountain Dreamer
  • The Teaching of Don Juan – Carlos Castaneda
  • Narratives from the Crib
  • Cien Sonetos de Amor (100 Love Sonnets) – Pablo Neruda
  • The Lord of the Rings – J. R. R. Tolkien
  • Harry Potter  – J. K. Rowling

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

  • TwilightStephenie Meyer

Twilight
New Moon
Eclipse
Breaking Dawn

  • I Am Right, You Are Wrong –Edward de Bono
  • One Thousand and One Nights
  • All Paulo Coelho’s books
  • Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
  • Perfume: The Story of a Murderer – Patrick Suskind
  • Chocolat – Joanne Harris
  • First, Break All the Rules – Marcus Buckingham (Irina)
  • The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable – Nassim Nicholas Taleb
  • Fooled by Randomness: The Hidden Role of Chance in Life and in the Markets – Nassim Nicholas Taleb

What book do you read?

Leave a Reply

