1st of March


Welcome, Spring! I missed you! You are here, at last!🙂  Today I will start wearing a “martisor” which means that white and red string that is attached at a decoration. Mine is an old silver coin from my grandmother, as many years ago, no other decorations existed so most of the people would wear silver or gold coins, symbolising the sun and its power to bring nature to life after a long winter. I was about to put here the information about martisor but I think you should either watch the video or go to Wikipedia and read. I am sure you will find the info very valuable and I just hope that in some future time, this Romanian tradition turns into  an international one as St. Valentine is. Because “Martisorul” is beautiful, refreshing, new, exciting and celebrating Spring! May you enjoy a beautiful Spring!

 

One thought on “1st of March

  1. Pingback: Anti Spring? « Sweet Nothings

Leave a Reply

